Stavros Kalogirou

Name: Stavros Kalogirou
Age: 40 years old
City/State:  Martinez, CA (NorCal)
About Me: I’m SF Bay Area local born and raised.  I’ve been married for almost 17 years and have 4 amazing kids (3, 7, 9, and 11).  I’m a Firefighter/Paramedic for a bay area department (actually I drive the engine, coolest job in the world).
Favorite Movie/Character: Braveheart, William Wallace
CrossFit Affiliate Name: Diablo CrossFit since 2006 (
Favorite Lift: Thrusters
Favorite Girl WOD: Fran or Helen…tough to say!
Least favorite/weakness: Toes 2 Bar/Squat Snatch
How did you start CrossFit? When I was in the process of being hired as a firefighter, during our orientation the PT coach said “if you want to get in shape for this, go do CrossFit”.  I had NO idea what it was, I was lucky enough to stumble into Diablo on December 21st, 2006 for my first workout…I’ve never looked back!
How often do you train/ Do you have a coach? I train 5 days a week, usually an AM session and a PM session.  I’ve been working 1-on-1 with Coach Scott Gillis from Optimum Performance Training Calgary ( since July 2016.  I can’t say enough about working with my coach, he believes in me more than I ever could.  I also work with a nutrition coach, Mike Kesthely from Nova3Labs (, I trust him implicitly with my nutrition and it’s paid dividends.  Check them out!
Who is your role model?  My mother passed away in 1997 when I was 20 years old, from lung cancer, she raised me and kept me safe a single mom and fought until the very end.  I wear pink every time I compete in her honor.  She’s my role model.  In the CF world, I appreciate the people who can compete at a very high level, but keep it fun.  I love to smile when I compete, if I’m not having fun when doing this…then I need to find something else to do 🙂
What are some of your goals – fitness or otherwise?  I placed roughly 320th out of 20,000+ last year in the 40-44m division in the CrossFit Open.  My goal is to place well into the top 200 and compete in the Masters Qualifiers.  I also want to continue to learn how to best balance my training and competing with all the other incredibly important things in my life.
Where do you see yourself in 5 years/ 10 years?  Wow, I’ll be 50 in 10 years, hah!  But seriously, I’ll still have kids at home and be driving a fire engine.  Other than that, I want to get better at life, a better husband, father, friend, firefighter, and certainly better at fitness 🙂

Our website uses cookies. By using this site, you agree to its use of cookies.